ECP restores Awn Chaudhry's victory notification from NA-128

ECP restores Awn Chaudhry's victory notification from NA-128


Awn Chaudhry contested against PTI's Salman Akram Raja

Follow on
Follow us on Google News

LAHORE (Dunya News) - The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has restored the victory notification of Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party (IPP) candidate Awn Chaudhry in National Assembly constituency NA-128. 

The ECP says IPP’s Awn Chaudhry is the victorious candidate from NA-128.

On the other hand, Muhammad Arqam Khan’s victory notification from the Punjab Assembly constituency PP-68 Gujranwala has been suspended. 

IPP’s Awn Chaudhry won the National Assembly seat by obtaining 172,576 votes while Barrister Salman Akram Raja got 159,024 votes. 

A day before, on Feb 22,  the ECP rejected Salman Akram's Raja plea challenging results of NA-128.  

Earlier, PTI-backed independent candidate Raja challenged the victory notification of his opponent Awn Chaudhry in the Lahore High Court (LHC). The LHC ordered to halt the result notification and later reserved verdict.