PP-168 by-polls: Polling ends, counting of votes begins

Dunya News

A tough contest is expected between PML-N and PTI candidates

LAHORE (Dunya News) – Polling for the by-election on Punjab Assembly seat PP-168 has ended across the country.

A total 11 candidates including Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Rana Khalid Mahmood Qadri and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Malik Asad Ali Khokhar are contesting the by-election.

A tough contest is expected between PML-N candidate Rana Khalid Mahmood Qadri and PTI candidate Malik Asad Ali Khokhar.

The seat was vacated by PML-N senior leader and former minister for railways and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Khawaja Saad Rafiq after he was elected to the National Assembly from NA-131 Lahore in the October last by-polls.

Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP) had also announced its support to the PML-N candidate in PP-168. Acknowledging the PPP offer, the PML-N City President and MNA Pervaiz Malik had thanked the PPP leadership.

Khawaja Saad Rafiq had obtained 34114 votes to defeat the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Muhammad Fiaz Bhatti who secured 14940 votes. The PTI candidate is working hard to fill the gap. Rana Khalid has been long affiliated with the PML-N and the party has awarded him ticket recognising his services.