Vote recount in NA-249 by-polls continues on second day despite objections

Dunya News

Vote recount in NA-249 by-polls continues on second day despite objections

 KARACHI (Dunya News) – The vote recount in the National Assembly (NA) constituency NA-249 by-elections has continued on second day today (Friday) despite objections raised by all the political parties except Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP).

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), Pak Sarzameen Party (PSP) and Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) had boycotted the vote recount, claiming that the seals of vote bags were broken.

The PTI had demanded the authorities to hold re-elections in the constituency while the PML-N had filed a petition.

Earlier, a total of 683 votes were rejected in the recount of votes from 60 polling stations in the controversial NA-249 by-election in Karachi. Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) issued notices to the boycotting candidates to be part of the recount but they did not return.

It is to be mentioned here that the development came after ECP had accepted the plea of PML-N and ordered recount in NA-249 by-elections.

During the hearing, PML-N candidate Miftah Ismail had submitted the details of unsigned form 45 in the commission and requested to launch inquiry into the irregularities.

Vote recount was our first priority however, we can take further step if not get satisfied, he added.

He said that unverified forms 45 and 46 had made the election suspicious. Form 45 of 167 polling stations was without signatures while some polling agents also didn’t get form 46, PML-N candidate told.

On April 29, 2021, PPP won the by-election in NA-249 Karachi West-II.

According to unofficial results of all 276 polling stations, PPP candidate Qadir Khan Mandokhel had secured 16,156 votes to win the NA-249 Karachi West-II by-election. PML-N candidate Miftah Ismail got 15,473 votes to remain second.

Nazir Ahmed grabbed 11,126 votes and came third. PSP chief Mustafa Kamal got 9,227 votes to remain fourth. PTI candidate Amjad Afridi secured fifth position by obtaining 8,922 votes.