The smart lockdown will remain in force in these areas till December 21.

LAHORE (Dunya News) - Due to surge in the number of coronavirus patients, the Lahore district administration has imposed smart lockdowns in 55 localities of the city, Dunya News reported on Tuesday.

According to Punjab health department, smart lockdown was imposed in Lahore’s Data Gunj Baksh Town, Shalimar Town, Samnabad Town, Aziz Bhatti Town and Allama Iqbal Town and will remain in force till December 21.

The district administration also issued standard operating procedures (SOPs) to ensure implementation on the smart lockdowns. Under these SOPs, all markets, shopping malls, restaurants, offices (public and private) in these areas would remain closed.

There shall be a complete ban on movement of people to and from these affected areaswhile public and private transport will also remain suspended in these areas.

All the grocery stores, fruit and vegetable shops, tandoors and petrol pumps in the hotspot areas will remain open from 9am to 7pm milk and meat shops have been allowed to open from 7am to 7pm. Medical stores, laboratories, clinics and hospitals in these areas will remain open for 24 hours.