Election 2018: Vote recount in NA-131 to be carried out today

Dunya News

The recount will be held on the plea of PML-N leader Khawaja Saad Rafique.

LAHORE (Dunya News) – On the directives of Lahore High Court (LHC), recounting of the votes in entire NA-131 constituency will be carried out today (Tuesday).

On July 25, Khan obtained 84,313 votes in a nail-biting contest against Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) strong candidate Khawaja Saad Rafique who secured 83,633 votes in NA-131.

Accepting the plea of PML-N leader, recount in the constituency was held however, Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) upheld PTI chief’s victory as votes of Saad soared by just 125 whereas those of Khan augmented by just 50 after the recount.

Later, former railway minister approached LHC who barred ECP from issuing notification of PTI chairman Imran Khan’s success and ordered recount in the entire constituency.

LHC stops Khawaja Asif s NA-73 victory notification

On the other hand, LHC has restrained the ECP from issuing the victory notification of former foreign minister Khawaja Asif in NA-73 Sialkot constituency.

LHC Justice Mamoonur Rasheed announced the decision on petition filed by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leader Usman Dar and issued notices to the electoral commission and Khawaja Asif.

Dar, in his petition submitted through Advocate Anees Hashmi and Advocate Tajamul Gondal, had challenged the victory of Asif pleading that the returning officer did not provide Form-45 to the polling agents.

The PTI leader maintained that as many as 7,346 votes were dismissed in his constituency and he lost to the PML-N leader by a margin of 1,406 votes.

The petitioner’s counsels asked the court to stay the notification of Khawaja Asif and order the returning officer to hold recounting of complete ballot papers.