PTI, PML-N speed up contact with independents for govt in Punjab

Dunya News

The analysts said that the support of independent candidates will be a turning point.

LAHORE (Dunya News) – Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) have started contacts with successful independent candidates to gain their support for forming government in Punjab.

As many as 149 seats are required to have dominancy in Punjab assembly while PML-N has secured 127 seats and PTI took 122 seats in recently held general elections.

The analysts said that the support of independent candidates will be a turning point.

Earlier, a meeting of the PTI leadership was held at Bani Gala with party chairman Imran Khan in chair during which, the party leadership assured Imran Khan of having complete numbers to form government in center.

The PTI has secured 115 seats in the National Assembly while Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q), Awami Muslim League (AML), BNP and Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) likely to support PTI after which it would get support of more than 140 members.

According to the data shared by the Election Commission of Pakistan, PML-N has taken 64 seats in NA, PPP 43, independents candidates 14, Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal 12, MQM 6, Pakistan Muslim League-Q 4 and two each by Balochistan National Party and the Grand Democratic Alliance.

General Election 2018

On Wednesday, millions of Pakistanis voted to elect a new government and prime minister in a peaceful elections held in free, fair and transparent manner.

Around 800,000 police and military forces were stationed at more than 85,000 polling stations across the country as the voting took place.

Wednesday’s election was only the second democratic transition of power in Pakistan’s 70-year coup-studded history.
Pakistan is a country of approximately 207 million people, out of which the number of registered voters are about 106 million.

The voting for the Pakistan election, which took place between 8:00 am local time (8:30 am IST) and 6:00 pm (6:30 pm IST), saw more than 3,000 candidates contesting for 272 general seats of the National Assembly, while some 8,000 candidates ran for 577 general seats of the four provincial assemblies - Punjab, Sindh, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, and Balochistan.