Imran says MPAs will be expelled from party if they fail to explain

ISLAMABAD (Dunya News) – The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has decided to expel its lawmakers for “selling their votes” in Senate elections if they fail to satisfy the show cause notices issued to them, party’s Chairman Imran Khan said Wednesday.

During a presser, the PTI chief said that the party had taken a strict action against those who sold votes. He said that 20 of PTI MPAs had received Rs 40 million each for selling their loyalties in the Senate election.

He said that names of all those MPAs would be forwarded to the National Accountability Bureau (NAB) if they remained fail to satisfy.

Imran alleged that lawmakers had been selling their conscience in the Senate elections for the last 40 years. He said that no political party bothered about Senate elections, and recommendations put forward by the PTI were rejected.

He said that an inquiry committee after thorough investigations had found 20 PTI lawmakers ‘involved’ in horse-trading in the Senate election.

Imran said that those found involved in horse-trading included MPAs Sardar Idrees, Zahid Durrani, Abdul Haq, Amjad Afridi, Arif Yousaf, Yaseen Khalil, Faisal Zaman, Sami Ullah Zai, Hina Naz, Nagina Khan, Fouzia Bibi, Naseem Hayat and others.

The party has also displayed at its official Twitter page the names of 20 lawmakers accused of selling votes in Senate elections.

Earlier in the day, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) Chief Minister presented a report bearing names of 13 Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) MPAs, who  had allegedly sold their votes in the Senate elections, to Imran Khan.

The report revealed that several MPAs “sold their conscience” for Rs 1.2 billion.

According to the report, PTI MPAs raked in Rs 600 million. “Thirty PTI MPAs were offered to sale their votes in exchange for money, and 15 MPAs were paid the amount during horse-trading.”

“Some MPAs belonging to Qaumi Watan Party (QWP) and Awami National Party (ANP) were also paid the amount.”

Giving the break-up, the report says that three KP Assembly members received Rs 110.4million on February 27, five received Rs 40 million each in Peshawar the next day, while three received Rs 30 million each on March 2. “A female MPA also refused to receive Rs 30 million and demanded Rs 50 million instead,” the report added.