This is the ninth summit of eight developing countries.

ISLAMABAD (Web Desk) - Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi has left for Turkey on Thursday to represent Pakistan at D-8 summit being held in Istanbul tomorrow.

This is the ninth summit of eight developing countries including Pakistan, Turkey, Malaysia, Bangladesh, Egypt, Indonesia, Iran, and Nigeria. The Minister for Foreign Affairs, Khawaja Muhammad Asif will also attend the summit.

Pakistan is the current Chair of the D-8, and it continues to hold the Chair beyond the normal period of two years.

The Prime Minister will hand over the chairmanship of the D-8 Summit to Turkey. The Istanbul Summit is expected to adopt a declaration and a plan of action.

Major areas of cooperation in D-8 Charter are industry, agriculture and food security, energy, trade, transportation and tourism.

The Prime Minister will also interact with the leaders of D-8 member states on the sidelines of the summit.