Lahore Qalandars groove their way to PSL-2023 triumph

Lahore Qalandars groove their way to PSL-2023 triumph


Lahore Qalandars groove their way to PSL-2023 triumph

LAHORE (Dunya News) – The Lahore Qalandars have made history by clinching the second PSL-2023 championship in a row in a groovy fashion. This victory was a testament to their exceptional cricketing skills and quirky style, which set them apart from the other teams in the tournament.

Playing first, Qalandars set 201 runs target for Multan Sultans in the final of Pakistan Super League 2023 final at Gaddafi Stadium. They had a decent start with Mirza Tahir Baig and Fakhar Zaman managing to score 34 runs together in the first three overs. Individually, both of them were able to rack up 30 and 39 runs, respectively. 

Abdullah Shafique followed Mirza Tahir Baig and gave an exceptional performance, adding 65 to their score total from just 40 balls. However, Lahore Qalandars lost some quick wickets after Fakhar Zaman’s dismissal with Sam Billings (8), Ahsan Bhatti (0), and Sikandar Mirza (1) being sent back to the pavilion too quickly.

Shaheen Afridi handled the situation well and managed to score 44 runs off just 15 balls, allowing Lahore Qalandars to set a decent target of 201 runs for the Multan Sultans.

In reply, Multan Sultans could only reach 199-8 in their 20-over quota. Despite an early loss of wicket with Usman Khan being dismissed for just 18 runs, Multan Sultans managed to keep up with Mohammad Rizwan and Rilee Rossouw scoring 34 and 52 runs, respectively.

Kieron Pollard and Tim David managed 19 and 20 runs, respectively, before both of them were dismissed by Shaheen Afridi. Meanwhile, Anwar Ali and Usama Mir were both dismissed too quickly as well by Shaheen Afridi after scoring just 1 and 0, respectively. 

Shaheen Afridi was once again the star with the ball for Lahore, taking four wickets.  With this win, Lahore Qalandars have successfully defended their title.