PSL 8: Azam fires United to comfortable victory over Kings

PSL 8: Azam fires United to comfortable victory over Kings


Imad's scintillating 92 in vain

RAWALPINDI (Web Desk) – Azam Khan’s blistering unbeaten 41-ball 72 and Faheem Ashraf’s 32-ball 41 stormed Islamabad United to a comfortable six-wicket victory against Karachi Kings in the 19th match of the eighth edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) at Pindi Cricket Stadium on Friday.


The home side chased down the 202-run target as Azam Khan smacked an unbeaten 72 off 41 balls to help see his side home. The United reached 204-4 with four balls to spare.

Chasing a mammoth total, the United were one done for 12, when Colin Munro was undone by Mohammad Amir. Munro made 5-ball 11. But Alex Hales accelerated the United’s innings. He stitched 50-run partnership with Rassie van der Dussen.

Kings’ bowler Aamer Yamin cleaned up Alex Hales. Hales made quickfire 16-ball 34, studding with four boundaries and two towering sixes.

Rassie van der Dussen, who scored 20-ball 22 was bowled by Tabraiz Shamsi.

Asif Ali helped the United sweep past the Kings in the last over, whacking one boundary and a gigantic six.

There was nothing special to talk about the Kings’ bowlers. Mohammad Amir (1-40), Aamer Yamin (1-42) and Tabraiz Shamsi (1-40) scooped up a wicket apiece.

Skipper Imad Wasim (0-22) and Shoaib Malik (0-10) remained wicketless.


After opting to bat, Imad Wasim’s blistering unbeaten 54-ball 92 powered Karachi Kings 201-5 against Islamabad United in the domestic premium tournament. 

 Earlier, the Kings kept on losing wickets, despite bagging runs. At one stage, the Kings were four down for 78. But it was a remarkable knock by Kings’ skipper Imad Wasim, who remained unbeaten, clobbering 11 fours and two towering sixes.

Irfan Khan (30 off 20), Adam Rossington (20 off 16) and Tayyab Tahir (19 off 8) made healthy contributions for their team.
Shoaib Malik (12) and Sharjeel Khan (6) failed to show any significant resistance with the bat. Matthew Wade remained unbeaten on 6-ball 13.

The United bowlers with the exception of skipper Shadab Khan went for plenty of runs. Shadab Khan conceded merely 21 runs in four overs, without bagging a wicket.

Tom Curran grabbed two wickets, but conceded 43.
Rumman Raees, was quiet expensive and gave away 52, bagging a wicket.

Hasan Ali (1-40) and Faheem Ashraf (1-35) took a scalp each.


Karachi Kings opted to bat first against Islamabad United in the marquee tournament.

After losing the toss, United skipper Shadab Khan said he wanted to field first. The United who was playing its first home game for the session welcomed Shadab Khan and celebrated fast bowler Hasan Ali’s 200 wickets in T20s format.


Islamabad United

Colin Munro, Alex Hales, RVD Dussen, Shadab Khan (c), Azam Khan, Asif Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Tom Curran, Mubasir Khan, Hasan Ali and Rumman Raees 

           — Islamabad United (@IsbUnited) March 3, 2023

Karachi Kings

Matthew Wade, Adam Rossington (wk), Tayyab Tahir, Sharjeel Khan, Irfan Khan Niazi, Shoaib Malik, Imad Wasim, Andrew Tye, Aamer Yamin, Mohammad Amir, Tabraiz Shamsi