PSL 2022: Multan Sultans thrash Peshawar Zalmi by 57 runs

PSL 2022: Multan Sultans thrash Peshawar Zalmi by 57 runs


Multan Sultans thrash Peshawar Zalmi by 57 runs

KARACHI (Dunya News) – Multan Sultans registered their fifth straight win in the 13th match of the seventh edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2022 as they thrash Peshawar Zalmi by 57 runs at National Cricket Stadium on Saturday.

Peshawar Zalmi had a rough start with Kamran Akmal getting dismissed for just 10 runs off 7 balls, however, Hazratullah Zazai managed a score of 43 runs off 32 balls. Haider Ali, who replaced Kamran Akmal on the pitch scored 24 runs off 12 balls, while Shoaib Malik could only add 11 runs towards the target of 223.

Hazratullah Zazai was the only top-order batter to hit for the Zalmi, but after that, all batters fell in quick intervals. The Afghan batter managed to hit 43 runs with the help of five fours and one six.

Although Cutting hit a few big ones against Dahani in the 19th over, the pacer had done his bit. Tahir with three wickets bowled a lovely spell too.

Playing first, Multan Sultans set 223 runs target for Peshawar Zalmi after they were invited to bat first.

Rizwan played a pivotal innings in the first innings and laid the foundation, while Tim David gave the finishing touches with his brisk fifty. The job was done at the halfway stage itself as the Sultans managed to post such a massive total.

Their bowlers had plenty to defend and they made sure to bowl attacking lines and lengths although Peshawar s openers got off to a quick start. Haider Ali struck a few boundaries too, but Dahani bowled a superb spell to derail the opposition thereafter.


Multan Sultans: Shan Masood, Mohammad Rizwan(w/c), Sohaib Maqsood, Johnson Charles, Tim David, Khushdil Shah, Anwar Ali, Abbas Afridi, Imran Tahir, Blessing Muzarabani, Shahnawaz Dahani

Peshawar Zalmi: Hazratullah Zazai, Kamran Akmal(w), Haider Ali, Shoaib Malik, Ben Cutting, Sherfane Rutherford, Wahab Riaz(c), Saqib Mahmood, Mohammad Umar, Usman Qadir, Salman Irshad