Independents give PML-N, others a run for their votes

Independents give PML-N, others a run for their votes


Results of few constituencies still awaited

Follow on
Follow us on Google News

LAHORE (Dunya News) – In a dramatic turn of events, independent candidates backed by the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) have emerged as frontrunners in the 2024 general elections concluded Thursday, according to provisional results trickling in from polling stations across the country. 

With no single major political group securing an outright majority, the possibility of a coalition government looms large, as Pakistan’s electoral landscape, once dominated by established political groups like the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), witnesses a notable surge in the popularity of independent candidates supported by the PTI. 


Preliminary results, subject to verification and confirmation, indicate that independent candidates — many of whom are supported by the PTI — have secured the majority of national constituencies across the country.

Out of the total 265 National Assembly seats, provisional results from 253 constituencies have been received so far.

As per unofficial results, PTI-backed independents have emerged victorious in 100 constituencies, followed by the PML-N with 72 seats. 

The PPP has secured the third position with win over 53 national constituencies, followed by the Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) with 17, Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) with three, Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party (IPP) with two, and Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) with two. 


Preliminary results for the four provincial assemblies reveal that the PML-N has emerged as the single-largest party in Punjab, while the PPP leads in Sindh and the PTI dominates in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. In Balochistan, no single party comes to have a clear majority.  


Out of the 296 provincial assembly seats in Punjab, results have been obtained for 282 constituencies so far.

According to unofficial results, the PML-N has won elections in 133 seats, while PTI-backed independents have bagged 129 seats, followed by the PPP with 10 seats. 


Of the 130 provincial assembly seats in Sindh, results have been acquired for 126 constituencies.

The PPP has secured victory in 82 seats, while the MQM-P has clinched 24 constituencies, followed by independents with 14 seats. 


Out of the 113 provincial assembly seats in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, results have been obtained for 106 constituencies.

According to unofficial results, PTI-backed independents have clinched 86 seats, with the JUI-F winning in seven constituencies, followed by the PML-N with five seats. 


Of the 51 provincial assembly seats in Balochistan, results have been obtained for 43 constituencies.

Unofficial results indicate that the PPPP has secured nine seats, the PML-N has won in eight constituencies, and the JUI-F has emerged victorious in seven and  independents in six constituencies.