PTI announces to contest NA-245 by-election

PTI announces to contest NA-245 by-election

KARACHI (Dunya News) – Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf on Friday announced to contest NA-245 by-election, a National Assembly seat vacated after the death of Amir Liaquat Hussain.

Dr. Amir Liaquat, Member National Assembly of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf had passed away on June 9, 2022.

A statement issued by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) said that candidates for NA-245 by-election will be able to get nomination papers on June 20 while nomination forms will be submitted from June 22 to 24.

The preliminary list of candidates will be released on June 25 and the papers will be scrutinized by June 27, while the final list of candidates will be released on July 5.

The ECP statement further said that the candidates who have submitted their nomination papers will be able to withdraw on July 6, while the election symbols will be allotted on July 7.

It should be noted that Amir Liaquat Hussain had defeated MQM s Dr. Farooq Sattar on NA-245 in the 2018 general elections and was elected Member National Assembly on PTI ticket.

Addressing a press conference in Karachi, PTI Sindh President Ali Zaidi said that all political parties, including MQM, have been rejected by the citizens. The use of electronic voting machine (EVM) wouldn’t have created situation as yesterday, while MQM Federal Minister Aminul Haq had also supported EVM.