Coronavirus: Qatar bans travelers from Pakistan, 13 other countries

Dunya News

Coronavirus: Qatar bans travelers from Pakistan, 13 other countries.

DOHA (Dunya News) – Qatar has temporarily banned travelers of fourteen countries including Pakistan due to the coronavirus outbreak after the number of patients surged to fifteen in it, Dunya News reported on Monday.

The other countries include Bangladesh, China, Egypt, India, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Nepal, Philippines, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Syria and Thailand.

Qatar’s Ministry of Health said in a statement, “The decision affects all individuals intending to enter from these countries, including visas upon arrival, those with a residence or work permit, and temporary visitors.”

It is pertinent here to mention that 96 passengers were offloaded from Doha-bound flights in Islamabad and Karachi. Qatar Airways had already suspended flights to and from Italy, one of the hardest-hit countries.

Let it be known that seven persons in Pakistan have been tested positive for coronavirus so far. State Minister for Health Dr. Zafar Mirza said the government is taking every possible step to protect people from the virus and stressed that there is no need to panic.