The session will discuss no confidence move against the Chairman.

ISLAMABAD (Dunya News) – Chairman Senate Sadiq Sanjarani has summoned the session of the upper house on July 23 at 3 PM on the requisition submitted by opposition parties to discuss the no confidence move against Chairman.

It is pertinent to mention here that opposition had rejected the objections of Chairman Senate and demanded voting in the session. Mir Hasil Bizinjo yesterday said opposition has sent a letter to secretary of the upper house in this regard.

He said we were not informed about the resolution till now. He said we were not given a reply for 4 days after submitting no confidence move. He further said opposition has support of more than 60 members.

He said the arrest of former PM Shahid Khaqan Abbasi is a pressure tactic and we condemn these arrests.

Earlier, the opposition parties conducted a joint meeting under the supervision of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) senior leader Raja Zafarul Haq and discussed removal of Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani.

During the meeting, the members refused to withdraw no-confidence motion against chairman of the upper house of the Parliament and decided to continue with it.

52 senators including Raza Rabbani and Abdul Ghafoor Haideri attended the session.

Opposition nominates NP’s Hasil Bizenjo as candidate for Senate chairmanship

Rehbar Committee’ – the anti-government alliance of the opposition parties – had nominated NP’s Hasil Bizenjo as its candidate for the chairmanship of the Senate.

The committee convener Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam (Fazl) leader Akram Khan Durrani said, “All opposition parties will vote for Bizenjo,” adding that after much analysis of the current political situation this decision was taken.

The opposition parties also mulled over the names of Mir Kabir Khan and Abdul Ghafoor Haideri, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) senators Raja Zafarul Haq and Pervez Rashid for the post.

Sources told that joint opposition parties have the required majority in the Senate to de-seat the senate chairman – as in the 104-member house, from the current 103 members; the support of only 53 senators is required for the senate chairmanship. The opposition parties collectively have the support of 65 senators.

PTI submits no-confidence motion against Senate deputy chairman

Afterwards, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) had submitted a no-confidence motion against Senate deputy chairman Saleem Mandviwalla - belonging to Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP).

PTI Senator Shibli Faraz submitted the no-confidence motion signed by 26 senators in the Senate secretariat.

Shibli Faraz said that the opposition parties should have taken care of the post they are holding before submitting the resolution against Sadiq Sanjrani.