PTI secures majority, all set to form govt in Punjab

Dunya News

12 MPAs-elect (member of provincial assembly) have formally announced to join PTI.

(Dunya News) - Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) is all set to form government in Punjab as Imran Khan-led party has achieved the minimum target of 149.

As per details garnered, 14 MPAs-elect (member of provincial assembly) have formally announced to join PTI whereas six MPAs-elect will call on cricket-turned-politician Imran Khan at his residence in Bani Gala today and will pledge their alliance for the party. Likewise, MPAs-elect Basit Bukhari and Khurrum Laghari has also pledges alliance for Imran Khan, taking party’s overall tally to 151.

Read also: PTI claims to meet required seat target in next 12 hours

On the other hand, a delegation of Pakistan Muslim League Quaid (PML-Q) led by Ch Shujat Hussain and Pervez Elahi has left for Bani Gala. They have already announced support for PTI in both Centre and Punjab. With eight MPAs in pocket, PML-Q’s support for PTI has finally ended battle for Punjab crown.

Read also: PML-Q puts weight behind PTI for coalition govt in Punjab

Earlier today, two MPAs-elect Faisal Jawana and Aslam Bharwana who contested elections from from Jhang’s PP-125 and PP-127 respectively has announced to join ranks of PTI. Likewise, independent MPA-elect from Multan’s PP-217 Sheikh Salman Naeem—who had contested elections against PTI’s vice-president Shah Mehmood Qureshi—has also announced to join PTI.

With 129 seats in Punjab Assembly, PML-N enjoys slander lead over PTI but inclusion of independent lawmakers have swung the political battle in latter’s favor. It would be suffice here to say that Khan-led PTI will form government in the Punjab for the first time in country’s recorded history.

Fawad claims majority in Centre, Punjab

Fawad Ch has on Monday claimed to have secured majority in both Centre and Punjab and has announced to form government.

He was addressing a presser here in Islamabad today.

Fawad stated that PTI has obtained support of as many as 168 lawmakers in National Assembly and 180 lawmakers in Punjab Assembly.

Fawad stated that Imran Khan will name Punjab Chief Minister, however, he avoided to disclose the name.

He further told reporters that Pakistan Muslim League Quaid’s (PML-Q) leaders Ch Shujat and Pervez Elahi called on PM-in-waiting Imran Khan at his residence in Bani Gala and pledged their alliance. “PML-Q will be part of coalition governments in Centre and Punjab”, he added.

Elections 2018

On Wednesday, millions of Pakistanis voted to elect a new government and prime minister in a peaceful elections held in free, fair and transparent manner.

Around 800,000 police and military forces were stationed at more than 85,000 polling stations across the country as the voting took place.

Wednesday’s election was only the second democratic transition of power in Pakistan’s 70-year coup-studded history.

Pakistan is a country of approximately 207 million people, out of which the number of registered voters are about 106 million.

The voting for the Pakistan election, which took place between 8:00 am local time (8:30 am IST) and 6:00 pm (6:30 pm IST), saw more than 3,000 candidates contesting for 272 general seats of the National Assembly, while some 8,000 candidates ran for 577 general seats of the four provincial assemblies - Punjab, Sindh, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, and Balochistan. 

Story written and edited by Zohaib Hassan