Anti-terrorism court dismissed prosecution against 14 officials including ministers, secretaries

LAHORE (Dunya News) – Anti terrorism court under judge Chaudhry Muhammad Azam on Tuesday gave its verdict on Model Town tragedy in which Pakistan Awami Tehreek had demanded prosecution against 14 government officials including PM Nawaz Sharif and Punjab CM Shehbaz Sharif.

The court dismissed the prosecution filed by Minhaj-ul-Quran director Jawaz Hamid against 114 government officials which included dignified politicians, police officers, district administration, cabinet, interior secretary and others. “The prosecution was filed after 21 months”, the court remarked.

It was stated that the law cannot summon PM Nawaz, Punjab CM Shehbaz Sharif, Railways Minister Khawaja Saad Rafique, Chaudhry Nisar Ali, Khawaja Asif, senator Pervaiz Rashid, Abid Sher Ali, Punjab Law Minister Rana Sanaullah, Punjab CM s principal secretary, home secretary Maj (retd) Azam Suleman and Lahore commissioner Rashid Mehmood Langrial without documented evidence

However, the court has summoned 124 police and district administration officials along with Police IG and former Lahore DCO Captain (retd) Muhammad Usman on February 17.

After the court’s verdict, director of Minhaj-ul-Quran expressed his concerns while media talk.

A large number of PAT workers were presented outside court during proceedings. A protest was recorded by them against government in the latter part after verdict which resulted into a traffic jam.

PAT leaders and lawyers have suggested that they will conduct mutual consultation to knock the door of higher court against these orders.