Non-bailable arrest warrants issued for Imran Khan, Qadri in SSP torture case

Dunya News

ATC directed DSP Idrees Rathore to implement the court's orders as early as possible.

ISLAMABAD (Dunya News) – Anti-terrorism court (ATC) on Tuesday has issued non-bailable arrest warrants for Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chief Imran Khan and Pakistan Awami Tehreek (PAT) chairman Tahir-ul-Qadri for continuous absence in Senior Superintendent of Police (SSP) Ismat Ullah Junejo torture case.

The hearing was conducted by Justice Sohail Ikram during which, ATC has directed the Deputy Superintendent of Police (DSP) Idrees Rathore to implement the court’s order as early as possible.

It is pertinent to mention here that the accused tortured SSP Ismat Ullah and injured him during 2014 sit-ins in Red Zone area.

The case was registered on September 19, 2014 in Secretariat police station under provisions of assaulting on-duty police officer and interfering in governmental affairs.

Earlier, counsels for Imran and Qadri submitted applications seeking exemption from appearance in the court in in a case pertaining to attack on Pakistan Television (PTV) headquarters and the Parliament building during in August 2014.

On Aug 31, 2014, anti-government protestors from PTI and PAT clashed with police while marching towards the Parliament and Prime Minister House.

The clash resulted in the deaths of three participants of the sit-ins. Hundreds, including demonstrators and police officials, were wounded.

The transmission of PTV News and PTV World was cut off for almost half an hour before the Pakistan Army cleared the building.