ICC World Cup: Green shirts to join first training session today

ICC World Cup: Green shirts to join first training session today


After seven years, the Pakistan cricket team reached India

HYDERABAD (Web Desk) - The first training session of the Pakistan team, which is in India to participate in the ICC World Cup 2023, will take place today (Thursday). 

After seven years, the Pakistan cricket team reached Hyderabad Deccan after 16-hour travel on Wednesday.

The green shirts will have an optional training session today and it will play its first warm-up match against New Zealand on Friday.

The Pakistan team will begin their journey in this World Cup on Oct 6 with a match against the Netherlands. 

Babar Azam's media talk 

Earlier, Pakistan cricket team captain Babar Azam asked the cricket fans for prayers and best wishes for the national cricket team leaving for the coveted crown.

Taking to X (formerly known as Twitter), the captain shared his pictures with the national team mentioning, “As we head for the World Cup, we seek prayers of all the Pakistan cricket team fans and well-wishers. I am certain that you will continue to extend your support and love, which you have always done.”

Pakistan’s cricket team captain for the ICC World Cup 2023, Babar Azam said that the players’ morale was very high and they would try their best to perform well in the mega event.

Speaking to media before departure for India, Azam said the national team had worked hard and the recent experience in Asia Cup would help do their utmost during the cup.

Answering a question, he said preparatory training sessions for the World Cup were not conducted because it was a week after the Asia Cup and the players needed rest to avoid fatigue.

He denied reports about pressure on the team while playing in India, saying the players would attract fans attention by playing well.

Pakistan squad 

Babar Azam (C), Shadab Khan (VC), Fakhar Zaman, Imamul Haq, Abdullah Shafique, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Agha Salman, Saud Shakeel, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Hassan Ali and Mohammad Wasim Jr

Travelling reserves: Abrar Ahmed, Mohammad Haris, Zaman Khan