PSL 8: Qalandars send Zalmi packing to join Sultans in final

PSL 8: Qalandars send Zalmi packing to join Sultans in final


Qalandars will look to defend title in final against Sultans

LAHORE (Web Desk) – Mirza Baig’s enterprising 42-ball 54 and bowlers’ brilliance knocked out Peshawar Zalmi by four-wicket in the second eliminator of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) at Gaddafi Stadium on Friday.


With this outstanding performance, the Qalandars had made it to the final of the marquee tournament thrice. There were plenty of pluses for the Qalandars in all the departments. The batters, including Mirza Baig, treated the Zalmi’s bowlers with utter contempt and were ably supported by the bowlers, especially Zaman Khan.

Chasing a target of 172, the Qalandars had to face early hiccup, when Fakhar Zaman danced down to the wicket in a bid to clear midwicket, but Azmatullah Omarzai operated cleverly and knocked Zaman down for just 5-ball 6.

Ahsan Hafeez, who was making his debut in the juiced-up format creamed Mujeeb for a maximum and delicate boundary in the 3rd over. He continued his intent by hammering Azmatullah for a lovely shot over midwicket. Pressure mounted on Omarzai and he lined badly and the Qalandars bagged extra five runs.

But it was the experience of veteran Wahab Riaz, who befuddled the debutant, Ahsan Hafeez with his length ball. Ahsan Hafeez (15 off 10) tried to heave over leg side but miscued, courtesy Wahab’s pace. Wicketkeeper Haseebullah Khan made no mistake to grab the catch.

Abdullah Shafique made a run a ball 10, before he was run out jointly by Babar Azam and Haseebullah Khan.

Sam Billings (28 off 21) and Sikandar Raza (23 off 14) made significant contribution to the Qalandars’ chase.

Shaheen Shah Afridi (12 off 4) and David Wiese (9 off 7) remained unbeaten to take their team to final against the Sultans, with seven balls to spare.

Mirza Baig (54 off 42) scored his promising 50 by hammering a six to Aamar Jamal. But in the next delivery, Jamal left Mirza Baig tangled and the edge went through Haseebullah.

Azmatullah Omarzai (2-31) was brilliant with the leather, scooping up two wickets.

Wahab Riaz (1-20), Aamer Jamal (1-32) and Salman Irshad (1-42) took a scalp each.


After opting to bat,  Mohammad Haris onslaught of 54-ball 85 steered Peshawar Zalmi to 171-5 against Lahore Qalandars in the marquee tournament. Zalmi skipper Babar Azam lost early his partner Saim Ayub (9 off 5) in the 2nd over, when Zaman Khan cleaned up the 20-year-old. But it was Mohammad Haris, who spearheaded the Zalmi’s batting lineup and stitched a prodigious partnership with Babar Azam.

Across 60 balls, Babar Azam and Mohammad Haris plundered 89, targeting the Qalandars’ bowlers with utter contempt, before Babar (42 off 36) was trapped by Rashid Khan. Babar looked belligerent and creamed seven exquisite boundaries.

Though went for runs, Rashid Khan bounced back and struck twice in the 12th over, flummoxing Babar and Tom Kohler-Cadmore (0 off 2).

But paving way for decent total, Mohammad Haris launched onslaught, whacking 11 boundaries and two sixes.
In the death overs, Sri Lanka’s Bhanuka Rajapaksa, played an unconquered cameo, plundering 18-ball 25, laced with four boundaries.

Aamer Jamal (1 off 3) was flummoxed by Zaman Khan, while Haseebullah Khan (5 off 2) remained unbeaten , clobbering a boundary.

In terms of economy, Zaman Khan remained standout for the Qalandars, scooping up two wickets and conceded merely 20 runs in three overs, he delivered. Rashid Khan also picked up two important wickets, but overall he turned out to be expensive, giving away 42 in his four overs.

Shaheen Afridi was expensive, conceding 41 runs and picked up wicket as Mohammad Haris hoicked the Qalandars skipper straight to Fakhar Zaman.

David Wiese (0-22), Haris Rauf (0-31) and Ahsan Hafeez (0-13) remained wicketless.


Peshawar Zalmi opted to bat first against Lahore Qalandars in the second eliminator of the eighth edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) at Qaddafi Stadium on Friday.

Peshawar Zalmi

Babar Azam (c) Saim Ayub, Haseebullah Khan (wk), Mohammad Haris, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Aamir Jamal, Azmatullah Omarzai, Wahab Riaz, Mujeeb ur Rahman and Salman Irshad

Lahore Qalandars

Mirza Baig, Fakhar Zaman, Abdullah Shafique, Sam Billings (wk), Ahsan Hafeez, Sikandar Raza, David Wiese, Rashid Khan, Haris Rauf, Zaman Khan and Shaheen Shah Afridi (c)