PSL 8: Babar, bowlers wrap up thrilling victory to eliminate United

PSL 8: Babar, bowlers wrap up thrilling victory to eliminate United


PSL 8: Zalmi, Qalandars to lock horn tomorrow in 2nd eliminator

LAHORE (Web Desk) – Peshawar Zalmi skipper Babar Azam’s enterprising 39-ball 64 and bowlers’ brilliance wrapped up a 12-run thrilling victory to eliminate Islamabad United in the 1st eliminator of the eighth edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) at Qaddafi Stadium on Thursday.

There were many positives for the Zalmi in all the departments. Starting from Babar Azam’s calculated knock and Mohammad Haris’ onslaught to Salman Irshad and Aamer Jamal’s exceptional bowling performances.


Chasing a target of 184, the Zalmi’s bowlers restricted the United to 171-6, courtesy Salman Irshad’s brilliant bowling, who gave no room to the United’s batters whatsoever. Salman was ably supported by other bowlers, including Aamer Jamal and Azmatullah Omarzai.

With the exception of Sohaib Maqsood (60 off 48), Alex Hales (57 off 37) and skipper Shadab Khan (26 off 12), none of the United’s batters showed any significant resistance.

After losing early wicket of Rahmanullah Gurbaz (10 off 7), Sohaib Maqsood, who was only playing his second match of the eighth edition, stitched a great partnership of 115 with Alex Hales, which came only in 77 deliveries, before it was broken by Aamer Jamal by befuddling Shoaib Maqsood. Shoaib Maqsood honked seven boundaries and two sixes in 48 balls.

Aamer Jamal also prised out Alex Hales, who like Maqsood clubbed seven boundaries and two sixes.

Azam Khan, who stole the spotlight with some brilliant performances, was castled by Salman Irshad on 3-ball 2. Continuing his rhythm, Salman Irshad also snaffled Colin Munro (4 off 9).

After applying coup de grace with the bowl, Aamer Jamal also showed his brilliance in the field by running out Faheem Ashraf (5 off 2).

Shadab remained unbeaten on 12-ball 26 and looked belligerent, hammering three boundaries and one towering sixes. Hasan Ali also remained not out, but without troubling the scorecard.

Salman Irshad (2-18) spearheaded his side with the bowl, bagging two wickets. He was capably backed by Aamer Jamal (2-36) who also scooped up two wickets.

Azmatullah Omarzai (1-33) scooped up a wicket of Rahmanullah Gurbaz.


After put in to bat, Skipper Babar Azam’s enterprising 39-ball 64 and Mohammad Haris’ quickfire 17-ball 34 paved way for Peshawar Zalmi to settle staggering 183-8 on the board against Islamabad United in the domestic premium tournament.

Early on both Babar and Saim went (23 off 16) after the bowlers in no time, stitching spunky 60-run stand off just 28 balls. For the partnership, Babar contributed 27 and Saim 23. Saim Ayub hoicked Mohammad Wasim straight to Faheem Ashraf over midwicket. Saim smashed five fours.

Zalmi lost Haseebullah Khan at the total of 96, scoring 11-ball 15. Skipper Shadab Khan trapped him and the rest of the job was done by wicketkeeper Azam Khan. But Babar Azam was not giving up and tried his level best to keep his time out of the doldrums.

Mohammad Haris joined skipper Babar and went straight after Shadab to slice away the boundary. In the next over, Haris creamed a boundary off Faheem Ashraf.

In the first 10 overs, the Zalmi were 109-2, while Babar Azam notched another half-century off just 28.

Facing Shadab, Babar Azam smoked successive boundaries, playing exquisite cover drives.

Haris was flaunting his excellent cricketing skills. He clobbered a towering six and a boundary to Shadab. But in the last bowl of his spell, Shadab bounced back, flummoxing Babar Azam. Babar whacked 10 boundaries in 39 balls to smash brilliant 64.

Mohammad Haris tried to continue the momentum following the departure of Babar and he clobbered a gigantic six off Hasan Ali. But Hasan bounced back to undone Mohammad Haris. Haris hoicked Hasan straight to Mohammad Wasim over cover region.

In his fiery innings, Mohammad Haris hammered three boundaries and two sixes in 17 balls to score 34.

In the death overs, Fazalhaq Farooqi, who was brilliant through the tournament, undone James Neesham (2 off 5). Neesham tried to loft over midwicket, but that was not a good short to clear the boundary and finds Mubasir Khan, who grabbed the catch comfortably.

The 19th over, which Mohammad Wasim delivered was quite eventful. Aamer Jamal (1 off 3) was run out and Shadab failed to grab a catch off Azmatullah as a result he cracked two boundaries.

His team also earned four byes as well. In the last over, Faheem Ashraf cleaned up Azmatullah (10 of 6) in the final over.

For the United, Shadab Khan (2-40) took two wickets, while other bowlers including Fazalhaq Farooqi (1-31), Faheem Ashraf (1-29), Hasan Ali (1-37) and Mohammad Wasim (1-29) took a scalp each.


Islamabad United elected to bowl first against Peshawar Zalmi in the marquee tournament. 


Alex Hales, R Gurbaz, Sohaib Maqsood, Colin Munro, Shadab Khan (c), Azam Khan (wk), Faheem Ashraf, Mubasir Khan, Hassan Ali, Wasim Jr and Fazalhaq Farooqi


Saim Ayub, Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Haris (wk), Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Jimmy Neesham, Aamir Jamal, Mujeeb Ur Rehman, Azmatullah Omarzai, Wahab Riaz, Salman Irshad