PSL 8: Rossouw, Pollard hold key as Sultans chase record victory against Zalmi

PSL 8: Rossouw, Pollard hold key as Sultans chase record victory against Zalmi


Rossouw onslaught helped Sultans register second highest chase in PSL's history

RAWALPINDI (Web Desk) – Rilee Rossouw’s imperious 51-ball 121 and Kieron Pollard’s quickfire 25-ball 52 powered Multan Sultans to comfortable four-wicket victory in a record chase in the 27th match of the eighth edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) at Pindi Cricket Stadium on Friday.


Chasing a mammoth total of 243, the Sultans had sweep past the Zalmi, scoring 244-6 with five balls to spare. The Sultans were two down for just 28. But it was blistering partnership between Rilee Rossouw and Kieron Pollard that outplayed the Zalmi. The partnership had flown along to 99 off just 43 deliveries.

This was not for the first team this season that Rossouw was at his best in a tricky chase. Rossouw clubbed 12 boundaries and eight maximums, paving way for the Zalmi to concede two back to back matches after scoring 240 plus.

Kieron Pollard showed his vast experience with the willow and raced away to 52 off just 25 deliveries, laced away with three boundaries and five maximums.

Khushdil Shah scored 14-ball 18, studding with two boundaries.

Anwar Ali and Usama Mir ensured to remain unconquered in bid to help their team sweep past the Zalmi. Usama Mir scored 3-ball 11, clobbering one boundary and six. Anwar Ali, who bowled the second most expensive spell in the history of the marquee tournament, clubbed two fours and two sixes to smash an unbeaten 8-ball 24.

All the Zalmi bowlers failed to apply the coup de grace against the Sultans. Afghanistan’s Azmatullah Omarzai bowled the fifth most expensive spell in the history of the PSL. He bagged two wickets but conceded 62 in his four overs.

Mujeeb (1-46), Arshad Iqbal (1-50), Wahab Riaz (1-32) and Saim Ayub (1-22) took a scalp each.

Usman Qadir in his two overs conceded 32 and remained wicketless.


Babar Azam’s quickfire 39-ball 73 and Saim Ayub’s scintillating 33-ball 58 powered Peshawar Zalmi to massive 242-6 against Multan Sultans in the marquee tournament. 

After electing to bat, Zalmi skipper Babar Azam and Saim Ayub combined for brilliant 134-run partnership off just 70 balls.

Babar continued to show his dominance, while the Sultans’ bowlers were having no answer. Babar Azam whacked nine boundaries and two mounting sixes in 39 balls to score brilliant 73, before he was dismissed by Abbas Afridi, who spearheaded the Sultans’ bowling attack.

Saim Ayub, smashed five fours and four maximums before he was undone by Usama Mir.

Mohammad Haris was absolutely brilliant with the bat, scoring crucial 11-ball 35. He was ably supported by Tom Kohler-Cadmore who smashed 18-ball 38, laced with four boundaries and two gigantic sixes.

Azmatullah Omarzai scored unbeaten handy 6-ball 16, clobbering one boundary and a towering six.

Haseebullah Khan could only make 7-ball 7 before he was removed by Abbas Afridi.

Wahab Riaz remained unbeaten on 2-ball 7, hammering a six to pave way for his side to score fourth highest total in the history of the marquee tournament.

With the exception of Abbas Afridi (0-39), no other bowlers showed brilliance with the leather. Abbas Afridi scooped up four wickets.

Usama Mir (1-27) bowled two overs and picked up a wicket.

Despite bagging a wicket, Anwar Ali had claimed a record of bowling the second most expensive spell in the history of the PSL, conceding 66 runs in his four overs.

Ihsanullah (0-35) was much better with the bowl, but remained wicketless. Tim David (0-11) bowled only over and remained wicketless.


Peshawar Zalmi opted to bat first against Multan Sultans in the domestic premium tournament.


Mohammad Haris, Babar Azam (c), Saim Ayub, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Haseebullah Khan, Rovman Powell, Wahab Riaz, Usman Qadir, Azmatullah Omarzai, Mujeeb ur Rahman and Arshad Iqbal


Shan Masood, Mohammad Rizwan (c and wk), Rilee Rossouw, Tim David, Kieron Pollard, Khushdil Shah, Anwar Ali, Usama Mir, Abbas Afridi, Sheldon Cottrell and Ihsanullah