2nd T20I: Pakistan beat West Indies by 7 runs

GUYANA (Dunya News) - Pakistan defeated West Indies by 7 runs in a thriller second Twenty20 of four match series on Saturday.

Pakistan set 158 runs target for West Indies in the second Twenty20.

While chasing 158 runs target, West Indies could score only 150 runs for the loss of four wickets in 20 overs.

West Indies decided to bowl first against Pakistan after winning the toss. The second Twenty20 of four match series was played at Guyana.

Earlier, persistent rainfall forced the abandonment of the first T20 International of a four-match series between the West Indies and Pakistan as a no-result at Kensington Oval in Barbados.

After steady rain delayed the start of play by almost three hours and reduced the match to nine overs-per-side, West Indies totalled 85 for five batting first.

Captain Kieron Pollard top-scored with an unbeaten 22 while seamer Hasan Ali led the bowling effort for the visitors with figures of two for 11 off two overs.

However the rains returned just as the home side s innings was coming to an end and after some deliberation the umpires announced the abandonment of the match.

With the series already reduced from a five-match contest due to a Covid 19-enforced delay during the preceding One-Day International series against Australia at the same venue, this latest setback leaves the series now as a best-of-three duel.


West Indies: Kieron Pollard (captain), Nicholas Pooran (wk), Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Fletcher, Jason Holder, Andre Russell, Lendl Simmons, Fabian Allen, Sheldon Cottrel, Fidel Edwards, Shimron Hetmyer, Akeal Hosein, Evin Lewis, Obed McCoy, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr.

Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Fakhar Zaman, Sharjeel Khan, Haris Rauf, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Wasim, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Shaheen Shah Afridi, Azam Khan, Arshad Iqbal, Sohaib Maqsood, Usman Qadir, Haider Ali