Pakistan clinch 11-run win against Zimbabwe in first T20I

Dunya News

Mohammad Rizwan scored 82 runs off 61 balls in the first inning

HARARE (Dunya News) – Pakistan defeated hosts Zimbabwe by just 11 runs in the first Twenty20 International at the Harare Sports Club on Wednesday. The visitors were put into bat by Zimbabwe captain Sean Williams after he won the toss.

The Zimbabwean batting side put up a good fight against Pakistan, scoring 138 runs for the loss of seven wickets. The home side looked set to reach the modest target of 150 with opener Tinashe Kamunhukamwe (29) and Craig Ervine (34) at the crease before Muhammad Hafeez came to Pakistan s rescue getting Tinashe stumped out. Leggie Usman Qadir was the pick of the bowlers for Pakistan with 3 wickets in his four over quota.

Earlier, Pakistan stumbled to 149 runs for the loss of 7 wickets at the end of the first inning. No Pakistan batsman could make valuable contribution to the score apart from Rizwan who scored 82 off 61 with ten fours and one six. Danish Aziz and Fakhar Zaman were the only other batsmen to enter double figures with scores of 15 and 13 respectively.

Zimbabwe’s Wesley Madhevere and Luke Jongwe picked up two wickets apiece. The hosts gave away fifteen extra runs.

Babar Azam-led Pakistan have made three changes from the last T20I that they played against South Africa. Danish Aziz is making his T20I debut replacing Asif Ali. Hasan Ali and Shaheen Shah Afridi have been rested. Usman Qadir and Mohammad Hasnain have made it to the playing XI.

Pakistan: Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Babar Azam (capt.), Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Haider Ali, Danish Aziz, Mohammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Usman Qadir, Mohammad Hasnain, Haris Rauf

Zimbabwe: Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, Wesley Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Craig Ervine, Sean Williams (capt.), Ryan Burl, Regis Chakabva (wk), Luke Jongwe, Wellington Masakadza, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava