Local govt announces to impose smart lockdown in several areas of Peshawar

PESHAWAR (Duny News) – The local authorities in Peshawar on Sunday have decided to impose smart lockdown in different areas due to increasing cases of coronavirus.

According to details, Hayatabad Phase 7, E-IV, Bilal Town, Forest Colony University, Alfalah Town, Abshar Town, Defence Town and others have been put under lockdown.

The decision came after Pakistan reported 114 deaths in the last 24 hours by novel coronavirus as the number of positive cases has surged to 721,018. The nationwide tally of fatalities has jumped to 15,443.

According to the latest figures by the National Command and Operation Center (NCOC), 5,050 persons tested positive for COVID-19 in the past 24 hours.

Punjab remains the worst-hit province in terms of deaths followed by Sindh and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

Till now 6,972 individuals have lost their lives to the epidemic in Punjab 4,529 in Sindh, 2,618 in KP, 607 in Islamabad, 399 in Azad Kashmir, 215 in Balochistan, and 103 in GB.

Furthermore, 268,750 coronavirus cases have been confirmed in Sindh, 248,438 in Punjab, 98,301 in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, 65,700 in Islamabad, 20,241 in Balochistan, 14,461 in Azad Kashmir and 5,127 in Gilgit-Baltistan.

Pakistan has so far conducted 10,734,960 coronavirus tests and 46,066 in the last 24 hours. 631,700 coronavirus patients have recovered in the country whereas 4,143 patients are in critical condition.