PPP to not participate in Punjab CM election

Dunya News

PPP will neither vote for PTI nor for PML-N candidate.

LAHORE (Dunya News) – Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) has decided to stay away from the election of Punjab Chief Minister (CM).

Sources told Dunya News that PPP will neither vote for Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate nor for Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate.

Also Read: New Punjab CM to be elected today

It is to be mentioned here that PTI’s Usman Buzdar and PML-N’s Hamza Shahbaz are contesting for the post of Punjab CM.

In the House of 358, an aspirant requires 178 votes to become chief minister and House’s leader. PTI enjoys support of 186 MPAs [members of provincial assembly] whereas PML-N enjoys support of 162.

Three independent lawmakers and one MPA of Rah-e-Haq party will also cast their vote.

Usman Buzdar garnered 26,897 votes from PP-286 Taunsa Sharif and defeated independent candidate Khawaja Muhammad Nizamul Mehmood.

Hamza Shehbaz—son of PML-N’s president Shehbaz Sharif—had secured PA’s seat from constituency PP-146.