T20 World Cup: South Africa beat Sri Lanka by six wickets

T20 World Cup: South Africa beat Sri Lanka by six wickets


Anrich Nortje snared three wickets in three overs

Follow on
Follow us on Google News

NEW YORK (Web Desk) - South Africa on Monday outclassed Sri Lanka by six wickets in a low-scoring match of their T20 World Cup 2024 opener at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York.

South Africa lost two early wickets in a tentative start to their chase of 78 to win in New York, as ball continues to dominate bat in the opening game in Group D.

Earlier, a bowling masterclass from South Africa lit up New York as wickets tumbled in the first ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 game to be held in the city.

Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat first, but found the going tough early on, as South Africa’s bowlers extracted extra bounce from the wicket.

Ottneil Baartman struck with his first ball to remove Pathum Nissanka, before Keshav Maharaj stepped in with two wickets in an over to leave the innings in tatters.

The introduction of Anrich Nortje as the fifth bowler saw no let-up for the Lankan batters, as the Protea pacer returned phenomenal figures of 4/7 in his four overs, ending any lingering hopes of a first-innings recovery.

Kagiso Rabada took 2/21, while Baartman ended with an excellent economy of 2.25 in his four overs.

Kusal Mendis, Kamindu Mendis and Angelo Mathews were the only batters to reach double figures in a hugely disappointing display from Sri Lanka, whose innings ended with a run-out as they posted just 77 in 19.1 overs.


Sri Lanka (possible): 1 Pathum Nissanka, 2 Kusal Mendis (wk), 3 Kamindu Mendis, 4 Sadeera Samarawickrama, 5 Charith Asalanka, 6 Angelo Mathews, 7 Wanindu Hasaranga (capt), 8 Dasun Shanaka, 9 Maheesh Theekshana/Dilshan Madushanka, 10 Dushmantha Chameera, 11 Matheesha Pathirana

South Africa (possible): 1 Quinton de Kock (wk), 2 Reeza Hendricks, 3 Aiden Markram (capt), 4 Heinrich Klaasen, 5 David Miller, 6 Tristan Stubbs, 7 Marco Jansen, 8 Keshav Maharaj, 9 Bjorn Fortuin, 10 Kagiso Rabada/Anrich Nortje, 11 Ottneil Baartman