PSL 9: Reigning champions Lahore suffered sixth successive defeat

PSL 9: Reigning champions Lahore suffered sixth successive defeat


Usama Mir showed magic with the ball by claiming six-wicket haul

Follow on
Follow us on Google News

LAHORE – Usman Khan and Usama Mir guided Multan Sultans to defeat Lahore Qalandars by 60 runs in 14th game of the Pakistan Super League season nine (PSL 9) at Gaddafi Stadium Lahore on Tuesday.

This is the sixth consecutive loss faced by Shaheeen Shah Afridi’s side as it failed to draw first blood. In chase of 215-run target, Qalandars were restricted to 154, thanked to Usama Mir’s magical bowling spell.

The spinner claimed six-wicket haul leaving Qalandars shattered. Opener Sahibzada Farhan made 31 while Fakhar Zaman was removed for 23. Rassie van der Dussen scored 30 while no other player could cross the 20-run mark.

Earlier, Sultans won the toss and elect to bat first. A fiery innings by Usman Khan powered Sultans to set a mammoth target of 215 runs for struggling Lahore Qalandars.

Sultans’ opening was unimpressive as Rizwan was dismissed for duck while a second wicket partnership between Reeza Hendricks and Usman Khan boosted the total.

Khan played an innings of 96 for 55 while Hendricks made 40. After their dismissal, Iftikhar showed magic with the bat as he made 40 for 18, helping his side to build tough total for Shaheen Afridi’s side.

Lahore have been wayward in bowling and their inconsistent batting let them down this season. Their talented openers Fakhar Zaman and Sahibzada Farhan have failed to contribute big partnerships. Spearheaded by Shaheen Afridi, their bowling attack lacked punch needed to put opponents on back foot. To add to their woes is injury to Haris Rauf who is sidelined for the season. Their spinners also failed to make inroads in the batting line-up of opponents.

Multan, on the other hand, have everything going in their favour. Led by skipper Mohammad Rizwan, their batting has displayed consistency and firepower. Their bowling is equally impressive. Pacer Mohammad Ali and spinner Usama pick wickets at crucial time to lead their side to victory.

Probable squads

Lahore Qalandars: Sahibzada Farhan (wk), Fakhar Zaman, Rassie van der Dussen, Shai Hope, Sikandar Raza, Ahsan Bhatti, Carlos Brathwaite, Jahandad Khan, Shaheen Afridi (c), Mohammad Imran, Zaman Khan

Multan Sultans: Mohammad Rizwan (c & wk), Dawid Malan, Reeza Hendricks, Tayyab Tahir, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, David Willey, Usama Mir, Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Ali, Aftab Ibrahim