PSL 9: Lahore Qalandars set 196 runs target for Islamabad United

PSL 9: Lahore Qalandars set 196 runs target for Islamabad United


The PCB’s headquarters Gaddafi Stadium hosted its first opening ceremony of the PSL

Follow on
Follow us on Google News

LAHORE (Dunya News) – Lahore Qalandars have set a giant target of 196 runs for Islamabad United in opening match in opening match of the ninth edition of the PSL at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

Opener Sahibzada Farhan showed fiery performance as he smashed 53 off 36. He got little support from his opening partner Fakhar Zaman, who was dismissed for 13.

Rassie van der Dussen scored unbeaten 71 off 41 while Abdullah Shafique made 28, helping their side to rack up a tough total for United.

Tymal Mills took two wickets while Naseem Shah and Shadab Khan claimed one wicket each.

Earlier, United won the toss and opted to field first in the opening match of the domestic league.

Before the start of the match, a dazzling opening ceremony was held. The event featured electrifying performances by Arif Lahore and his son, Ali Zafar, Aima Baig and Noori band, who enthralled the spectators.

Natasha Baig and Leo Twins presented soulful rendition of the National Anthem at the Gaddafi stadium that was in all its’ glory owing to dazzling laser show and fireworks.

Karachi, Lahore, Multan and Rawalpindi to host 34 matches

The PSL 9 will see four cities, Karachi, Lahore, Multan and Rawalpindi host 34 matches of the marquee event. Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium will host nine matches, which includes Lahore Qalandars playing five matches at their home turf. The picturesque Multan Cricket Stadium will host five matches – all Multan Sultans fixtures. Lahore and Multan will host the first leg of the league from 17 to 27 February before action moves to Karachi and Rawalpindi.

Pindi Cricket Stadium in Rawalpindi will host nine matches from 2 to 10 March with Islamabad United featuring in five matches. Peshawar Zalmi will play four of their 10 matches in Rawalpindi, while Quetta Gladiators will play three matches at the Pindi Cricket Stadium.

Karachi’s National Bank Stadium will host 11 matches including the grand finale on 18 March. The home side Karachi Kings will play a minimum of five matches at the venue, while Quetta Gladiators will get to play at least three matches at the National Bank Stadium.