Get to know India's cricket world cup history

Get to know India's cricket world cup history


This is the first time that India are hosting an entire 50 overs world cup

NEW DELHI (AFP) - The world cup fever has gripped everyone. It's high time the cricket fans got factfiles and updates. 

Cricket World Cup factfile on India:

World ranking


Match schedule (GMT)

Oct 08: v Australia at Chennai (0830)

Oct 11: v Afghanistan at New Delhi (0830)

Oct 14: v Pakistan at Ahmedabad (0830)

Oct 19: v Bangladesh at Pune (0830)

Oct 22: v New Zealand at Dharamsala (0830)

Oct 29: v England at Lucknow (0830)

Nov 02: v Sri Lanka at Mumbai (0830)

Nov 05: v South Africa at Kolkata (0830)

Nov 12: v Netherlands at Bengaluru (0830)


Rohit Sharma (captain), Hardik Pandya, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Axar Patel, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav

Leading run-scorer in squad

Virat Kohli: 13,083 runs; highest score 183; average 57.38; Hundreds 47, Fifties 66

Leading wicket-taker in squad

Ravindra Jadeja: 204 wickets; best bowling 5-36; average 36.95

Previous world cup appearances

1975: Group stage

1979: Group stage

1983: Champions

1987: Semi-finals

1991: Round-robin stage

1996: Semi-finals

1999: Super Six

2003: Runners-up

2007: Group stage

2011: Champions

2015: Semi-finals

2019: Semi-finals

What the captain says 

“A person can’t change overnight with his success or failures. I don’t think one result or one championship can change me as a person. I have not changed as a person in the last 16 years and I don’t think anything needs to change on that front.”