PSL 2022: Qalandars outplayed by Sultans in last-over thriller

PSL 2022: Qalandars outplayed by Sultans in last-over thriller


Multan Sultans beat Lahore Qalandars in PSL thriller

KARACHI (Dunya News) - Multans Sultans registered a sensational five wicket win over Lahore Qalandars in third match of Pakistan Super League (PSL) seventh edition at National Stadium in Karachi on Saturday.

The match swung like a pendulum as Sultans required 16 off the last over when Khushdil Shah hit three fours and a six to Harris Rauf in the last over. For a large part of their innings, Muhammad Rizwan’s Sultans were in control of the run chase.

Shan and Rizwan made 83 off 50 (14 fours and a six) and 42-ball 69 (six fours and three sixes) respectively and put together the highest partnership for any wicket for Multan to set the platform to surmount a mammoth target of 207.

The match turned on its head in the 17th over when Mohammad Rizwan, who scored his second half-century of this season, fell to Shaheen Shah Afridi.

Khushdil who arrived at the crease on the edge of the last over when Shaheen Afridi dismissed Tim David on the last ball of the penultimate over, spanked three fours and a six to chase down 16 off the last over with two balls spare.

Playing first, Lahore Qalandars set a target of 207 runs for Multan Sultans. Lahore Qalandars openers Fakhar Zaman smashed 76 runs on 35 balls and caught by Imran Khan while Abdullah Shafiq scored 24 runs on 22 balls and got out. Mohammad Hafeez was sent back to the pavilion after hitting 16 runs on 12 balls. Kamran Ghulam also returned to the pavilion on ball of David Willey after hitting 43 runs on 31 balls.

Shahnawaz Dahani claimed the wicket of Ben Dunk on the first ball of last over of the inning. David Wiese and Rashid Khan remained not out and concluded the inning for Lahore Qalandars at 206/5.

The Multan Sultans have played their second match today under the captaincy of star cricketer Muhammad Rizwan while Lahore Qalandars played their first match of the tournament with Shaheen Shah Afridi as their captain.

The Multan Sultans are leading the point table.


Multan Sultans: Shan Masood, Mohammad Rizwan (c)(wk), Sohaib Maqsood, Rilee Rossouw, Tim David, Khushdil Shah, David Willey, Imran Tahir, Imran Khan Sr, Shahnawaz Dahani, Ihsanullah

Lahore Qalandars: Fakhar Zaman, Abdullah Shafique, Mohammad Hafeez, Kamran Ghulam, Ben Dunk, David Wiese, Samit Patel, Rashid Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi (c), Haris Rauf, Zaman Khan