Rain forces abandonment 3rd T20I between W Indies and Pakistan

GUYANA (Dunya News) – Persistent rainfall forced the abandonment of the 3rd T20 International of a four-match series between the West Indies and Pakistan as a no-result at the Providence Stadium, Guyana on Sunday.  

Earlier, Just after toss and eight balls rain made a comeback into the match. West Indies opening batsmen Andre Fletcher and Chris Gayle opened the batting for host against Pakistan

Pakistan took a 1-0 series lead by a small margin in the second game. After the washed-out first T20I, the series is now effectively a three-match clash and the visitors are only one win away.

Pakistan’s top order yet again proved to be the pillars over which the visitors’ success depended upon but it was the bowling that tacitly pulled it back for Pakistan in the second game.

However, the graph of improvement of the lower middle-order batting line-up for Pakistan has plateaued and could be an area of concern before the ICC Men s T20 World Cup later this year. Mohammad Hafeez, who leads the middle-order, has averaged 11.77 in 2021 in 12 appearances while Fakhar Zaman averages 20.33.

On the other hand, West Indies uncharacteristically struggled with changing the gears and chasing down a below-par total. Although, the Windies bowling has seen a lot of positives that exploded the visitors while conceding only 23 and picking up six wickets at the death.

In the second clash, Pakistan got off to a flier with Mohammad Rizwan’s 46 and Babar Azam’s 51. But as the rain interrupted the play and the match resumed, Pakistan crumbled to 157/8 in 20 overs after they looked on track to reach 180 at one stage.

West Indies batters struggled against the spin with Hafeez leading the way. Hafeez returned with the match-winning economical figures of 4-1-6-1 while Shadab Khan conceded only 22 in his four overs that helped Pakistan restrict the hosts to seven runs short of the target.


West Indies: Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Andre Russell, Kieron Pollard (capt), Jason Holder, Romario Shepherd, Dwayne Bravo, Haydn Walsh, Akeal Hosein

Pakistan: Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Sharjeel Khan, Babar Azam (capt), Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Sohaib Maqsood, Shadab Khan, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Wasim, Usman Qadir, Haris Rauf