Pakistan beat South Africa in last-over thriller to clinch series

Dunya News

Pakistan, who lead the series 2-1, fielded an unchanged team.

CENTURION (Dunya News) - In a nail-biting finish, Pakistan won the fourth and final T20I against South Africa by three wickets to clinch series at SuperSport Park in Centurion on Friday.  

Men in Green clinched a 3-1 series win for the tourists. Pakistan seemed to be cruising when they reached 92 for one in the 10th over after bowling out South Africa for 144 on what is usually a high-scoring ground.

But six wickets fell for 27 runs after Fakhar Zaman was out for a hard-hit 60 off 34 balls before Mohammad Nawaz sealed the win with a six off the penultimate ball.

The winning runs were eventually scored by Mohammad Nawaz (25 from 21) as he hooked Williams to the mid-wicket boundary for six off the penultimate ball of the match to complete a memorable series win.

Pakistan s 3-1 series win completed a clean sweep of four successful series against South Africa during the season. They won Test and T20 series in Pakistan and a one-day and T20 series in South Africa.

The Proteas were dismissed for 144 with Pakistan chasing down the target on the penultimate delivery of the match to take the series 3-1.

Only three players reached double figures in South Africa’s innings, with Rassie van der Dussen (52 from 36) and Janneman Malan (33 from 28) the major contributors.

They were held in check by some excellent seam bowling from Faheem Ashraf (3-17 in four overs), Hasan Ali (3-40) and Haris Rauf (2-18) but, as has been the case throughout the series, there was also some poor shot selection.

For Pakistan Ashraf took 3/17 from his 4 overs & Hasan Ali picked 3/40 from his 4.

Earlier, Pakistan won the toss and decided to bowl. Captain Babar Azam’s decision was no surprise after Pakistan chased down a target of 204 with nine wickets and two overs to spare at the same venue on Wednesday, with Babar making a masterly 122.

Pakistan, who lead the series 2-1, fielded an unchanged team.

South Africa made two changes, with all-rounder Wiaan Mulder and left-arm spinner Bjorn Fortuin replacing batsman Pite van Biljon and left-arm fast bowler Beuran Hendricks.

South African captain Heinrich Klaasen said he would have preferred to bowl. "It looks a good wicket again," he said. 


South Africa: Heinrich Klaasen (captain, wkt), Aiden Markram, Janneman Malan, Rassie van der Dussen, George Linde, Andile Phehlukwayo, Wiaan Mulder, Sisanda Magala, Bjorn Fortuin, Lizaad Williams, Tabraiz Shamsi

Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (wkt), Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Haider Ali, Asif Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Nawaz, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf