Babar Azam will lead the Green Caps against the Proteas.

LAHORE (Dunya News) – Newly appointed Pakistan chief selector Mohammad Wasim has on Friday announced Babar Azam-led 20-strong national Test squad for the upcoming home series against South Africa.

The series against the Proteas is Mohammad Wasim’s first assignment as the chief selector of Pakistan after Misbah-ul-Haq stepped down from the role. Mohammad Wasim said the team has been selected on the basis of players’ performance at the domestic level.

Mohammad Wasim said he was happy that a major team like South Africa are touring Pakistan.


Babar Azam (c), Abid Ali, Abdullah Shafique, Imran Butt, Azhar Ali, Fawad Alam, Kamran Ghulam, Salman Ali Agha, Saud Shakeel, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfraz Ahmed, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan, Yasir Shah, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Tabish Khan

Shan Masood, Mohammad Abbas and Imam-ul-Haq Have been dropped from the team.